New Entries

Building

St. Patrick parish was founded in 1849 as St. Patrick Church Mission to serve Ft. Hamilton area, making it one of the oldest parishes in Brooklyn (although at the time of its founding, Bay Ridge was part of the separate town of New Utrecht, not the town of Brooklyn). The church was the Catholic parish of soldiers stationed at Ft. Hamilton.

Person

1872 - 1954. Born in Philadelphia and educated at Spring Garden Institute, the Franklin Institute and the Universtiy of Penssylvania. Perrot interned with with George Plowman and Charles C. Haines, after which he spent two years with Catholic church architect E. F. Durang.

Building

Originally constructed as a pair of row houses in 1854, these two buildings were combined in 1923 as a funeral parlor for the Brooklyn Casket Co.

Building

Row of five 4-story Italianate row houses. #498-500 altered later.

Person

Partnership of Frank V. Laspia and Lee Samenfeld. Did a lot of work in sourthern Brooklyn, Bensonhurst in particular, in the 1920s and 1930s. Responsible for many tapestry brick buildings and alterations of older buildings in the 1920s tapestry brick style.